The New Zealand Championships is the longest running and most prestigious domestic surfing event in New Zealand.

Dating back to 1963, the championships have a storied history, rich with outstanding performances from the best surfers in the country.

The event now reflects the New Zealand surfing community as a whole, offering up over 20 divisions ranging from Under 14s through to Over 60s plus standup paddleboard, longboard and kneeboard disciplines.

The seven-day event is generally held during the middle of January marking the start of the competition season.

The Championships were first held at Mount Maunganui but have been held as far north as Kaitaia and as far south as Dunedin.

Often gaining significant nationwide exposure, the event has continually brought its champions into the nation’s spotlight.  Whether that is young up and comers bursting onto the scene or the thirty-year quest to break the five-title tie between Wayne Parkes and Iain Buchanan, a feat achieved by Billy Stairmand in 2017.

Go it alone, make a roady out of it with your friends of treat it as a family holiday, there are numerous ways to take in the week-long event and have a great week of summer waves and sunshine.

What: The 2018 National Surfing Championships
Where: Gisborne
When: 7 – 13 January
Who: 20 divisions from Under 14s through to Over 60s, SUP, Longboard and Kneeboard
How: Enter online here from early December.  Entries close Monday prior to the event.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Start typing and press Enter to search