Surfing New Zealand selects a New Zealand Open Surfing Team.  The team competes at the International Surfing Association (ISA) World Surfing Games held annually around the world.

The World Surfing Games is an IOC recognised event which attracts approximately 250 surfers from over 40 countries.

Surfers compete for both individual and team medals in both divisions.  The event includes a tag team event for the top eight nations from the previous event held.

Team Composition
3x Open Men
3x Open Women

Selection Criteria
Teams are selected using the Surfing New Zealand Selection Criteria.

Time Frame
The 2020 ISA World Surfing Games will be held in El Salvador. Dates are pending, due to Covid-19.

New Zealand Senior Squad 2020

Open Men

Billy Stairmand (Raglan)

Kehu Butler (Mount Maunganui)

Ricardo Christie (Gisborne)

Elliot Paerata-Reid (Piha)


Open Women

Ella Williams (Whangamata)

Paige Hareb (Taranaki)

Raiha Ensor (Mount Maunganui)

Saffi Vetti (Gisborne)

Aimee Brown (Great Barrier Island)


Most Recent Results (Japan 2019)

Open Men
Billy Stairmand – 8th (provisionally qualified for Tokyo Olympics)
Kehu Butler – 19th
Ricardo Christie – 37th

Open Women

Ella Williams – 29th (provisionally qualified for Tokyo Olympics)
Paige Hareb – 33rd
Raiha Ensor – 33rd

Overall Team Ranking: 7th

Past New Zealand Results
New Zealand has been represented at world championship events since the 60’s.  The most recent results of the New Zealand Surfing Team are as follows:

2017 – 14th
2016 – 8th
2015 – 8th
2014 – 11th
2013 – 12th
2011 – 9th
2010 – 7th
2009 – 11th
2008 – 10th
2006 – 12th
2004 – 13th
2002 – 7th
2000 – 9th
1998 – 8th

Team Photos

Further Information
Further information on this event can be viewed by visiting the ISA website.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Start typing and press Enter to search