President – Chris Fougere
Chris is current Surfing New Zealand Chairman. Chris is an Orthopaedic Surgeon, based in public practice at Auckland City Hospital with a private practice at Domain Orthopaedic Surgeons, Auckland. He has an interest in outreach surgery having worked in Post- Earthquake Haiti, Post- Tsunami Samoa and many other third world locations.  He is an Alumni member of the AO Foundation for fracture surgery.

Vice President – Matthew Sale
Matt Sale is a senior executive with a passion for discovering and realizing the potential in people and organizations.  Currently leading the transformation of New Zealand’s oldest and largest professional trustee firm, Public Trust, from 2004 – 2013 he held a wide variety of senior leadership roles in National Australia Bank, across New Zealand, Europe, and Australia, covering strategy, sales, distribution, customer experience, marketing, projects, product and pricing.

North Island Representative
Currently vacant

South Island Representative – Russell Ritchie
Russell has over 25 years of sports administration predominantly as a volunteer.  He has managed regional and national teams since 1989.  He has administered regional and national surfing events both as a contest director and head judge.

Russell has driven his local boardrider club to become one of the most successful clubs in the country.

Russell has been a self-employed plumber 30 years being involved in all aspects of the construction industry, including the onsite/offsite coordination and management of jobs (housing & light commercial).  Since 2011, he has been running a construction company involved in the large-scale repairs of earthquake-damaged houses in Christchurch.

Board Member – Alexis Poulter

Alexis has her Masters in Law and currently works in Auckland for the family business where she is over imports, exports, logistics, distribution & international operations/sales. Alexis holds 10 national surfing titles and has represented New Zealand at the ISA Worlds for 7 years, twice in the SUP and 5 times at Junior level, of 3 of those years she was captain. Alexis attended the Raglan Surfing Academy and is currently the treasurer of the Waihi Beach Boardriders.

Co-opted Board Member – Kristin Percy
Kristin is a lawyer with a background in private practice and in-house with Westpac and NZX, who currently is a legal education executive with the NZ Law Society. Her fascination for the sea has driven her involvement with sailing, scuba diving, and stand up paddling. She has covered many thousands of ocean miles racing and cruising keelers, and volunteered as a coordinator with the Volvo Ocean Race Auckland stopovers. She was the founding President and is a current committee member of NZ Stand Up Paddling Incorporated, which organises the NZSUP Nationals each year.  She is a selector for the NZ SUP ISA worlds team, a qualified SUP instructor, PADI Rescue Diver and Ocean Yachtmaster.

Co-opted Board Member – Andy Higgs
Profile to come


Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Start typing and press Enter to search