SUP and Paddle Team

Home / SUP and Paddle Team

Surfing New Zealand selects a New Zealand Stand Up Paddleboard and Prone Surfing Team annually.  The team competes at the International Surfing Association (ISA) World SUP and Paddleboard Championship held around the world annually.

The World SUP and Prone Paddleboard Championship is an IOC recognised event which attracts approximately 250 paddlers from over 30 countries.

Paddlers compete for both individual and team medals in several disciplines.

Team Composition
9 Men
9 Women

Competitors Per Discipline:
SUP Surfing: Men (2), and Women (2)
SUP Racing Technical: Men (2), and Women (2)
SUP Racing Distance: Men (2), and Women (2)
SUP Sprint Race: Men (1), and Women (1)
Paddleboard Racing Technical: Men (1), and Women (1)
Paddleboard Racing Distance: Men (1), and Women (1)

ISA Team Paddle Relay:
SUP Racing: Men (1), Women (1)
Paddleboard: Men (1), Women (1)

Selection Criteria
Teams are selected using the Surfing New Zealand Selection Criteria.

Time Frame
The location of the 2017 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship is Denmark with the event being held 1-10 September.

2016 Results
Daniel Kereopa (Raglan) – SUP Surf (13th)
Shane Murrell (Auckland) – SUP Surf (31st)
Renee Davenport (Raglan) – SUP Surf Women’s (16th)
Marcus Hansen (Whangarei) – SUP Distance Race and Technical Race (9th and 7th)
Michael Hastie (Dunedin) – SUP Distance Race (26th)
Cormac McCullough (Auckland) – SUP Technical Race (25th)
Penelope Strickland (Auckland) – SUP Distance and Technical Race (6th and 1st)
Sam Shergold (Mount Maunganui) – Paddleboard Distance Race (1st)
Declan Dempster (Mount Maunganui) – Paddleboard Distance Race (5th)
Nick Malcolm (Gold Coast) – Paddleboard Technical Race (6th)
Scott Cowdrey – Paddleboard Technical Race (3rd)
Danielle McKenzie (Auckland) – Paddleboard Technical and Distance Races (2nd and 2nd)

Past New Zealand Results

New Zealand has been represented at ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship since it’s inception.  The most recent results of the New Zealand Team are as follows:

2016 – 3rd
2015 – 4th
2014 – 10th
2013 – 17th
2012 – 15th

Team Photos

Further Information
Further information on this event can be viewed by visiting the ISA website.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search